Nous sommes
Experts en Développement de l'Enfant
Global
Les Partenaires
À But Non-Lucratif

SOINS PSYCHOSOCIAUX

Nous sommes des experts du développement des enfants, qui croient que tous les enfants et familles hospitalisés devraient avoir accès à des soins psychosociaux, pour minimiser le stress et l'anxiété des expériences d'hospitalisation.

NOTRE ÉQUIPE

Holly Clark, MS, CTRS, CCLS
Directeur Exécutif
hclark@pediatricpotential.org

Mme. Holly Clark est doublement licenciée comme Spécialiste de l´enfance et Spécialiste en loisirs thérapeutiques, elle est aussi la cofondatrice de Pediatric Potential.

Holly a soigné des patients en pédiatrie ayant des besoins en hématologie, en oncologie et en réadaptation médicale aiguë pendant plus de douze ans chez un spécialiste de la vie certifiée de l'enfant. Au cours de son mandat de clinicien, elle a offert une variété d'interventions de soins psychosociaux, dirigé des programmes de réinsertion sociale, mis sur pied des groupes de soutien et entretenu des relations avec les donateurs et les partenaires.

Dans son poste actuel de chef de file, Mme Clark a mis en place le premier service de garde d'enfants durable au Qatar et continue de diriger les soins psychosociaux pédiatriques pour le système public de soins de santé de l'État. En outre, elle a défendu et co-rédigé avec succès les exigences professionnelles d'accréditation pour que le spécialiste de la vie de l'enfant soit officiellement reconnu par le ministère de la Santé publique du pays et serve un comité national dédié aux soins aux personnes ayant des besoins spéciaux.

L'expertise globale de Holly couvre l'Amérique, l'Inde, l'Asie du Sud-Est, l'Afrique et le Moyen-Orient. Au cours des huit dernières années, elle a consacré sa carrière à la promotion de soins psychosociaux culturellement adaptés, en tant que consultante professionnelle, membre du conseil d'administration, chercheuse, conférencière invitée et bénévole auprès des missions médicales.

Mme Clark est titulaire d'un Baccalauréat en Gestion et Marketing de l'Université de l'Oregon et d'une Maîtrise en Administration des Loisirs avec concentration en Loisirs Thérapeutiques de l'Université d'État de San Francisco aux États-Unis.

Jeanine Clapsaddle, MA, LMFT, CCLS
Présidence
Directeur d´Expérience des Clients
jclapsaddle@pediatricpotential.org

Mme. Jeanine Clapsaddle est licenciée comme Spécialiste de l´enfance ainsi que thérapeute Conjugale et familiale, elle est aussi la cofondatrice de Pediatric Potential.

Jeanine a servi des patients pédiatriques atteints d'oncologie, d'hémophilie, de thalassémie et d'autres maladies chroniques pendant plus de deux décennies à titre de spécialiste certifiée de la vie chez les enfants. Pendant cette période, elle a fourni des services pratiques aux patients et aux familles, y compris l'éducation médicale, la préparation et le soutien aux procédures, les services d'héritage et de deuil, et la réintégration à la vie à la maison et à l'école.

Dans le cadre de sa fonction actuelle de superviseur clinique, Mme Clapsaddle dirige une équipe interdisciplinaire de spécialistes de la vie des enfants, d'assistants de vie pour les enfants, de thérapeutes récréatifs et de musicothérapeutes. Dans ce rôle, elle favorise le développement des compétences cliniques, recueille des données pour la croissance du programme, participe à des recherches, collabore à développer de nouveaux services aux patients, favorise les relations avec les donateurs, supervise et encadre les étudiants et les partenaires.

Les engatemnets globaux de Jeanine vont de l'Amérique, de l'Inde, de l'Asie de l'Est et de l'Afrique. Elle a codirigé le développement et la mise en œuvre du premier stage accrédité en dehors de l'Amérique du Nord, a donné des cours sur les soins de santé adaptés aux enfants pour améliorer les expériences des patients et des familles, a donné des conférences internationales sur les facteurs psychosociaux ayant un impact sur les soins pédiatriques. fournit soutien et surveillance à un programme phare de la vie de l'enfant en Inde.

Mme Clapsaddle détient un Baccalauréat en développement humain du Collège Stephens et une Maîtrise en psychologie du counseling et en thérapie conjugale et familiale de l'Université de St. Thomas, aux États-Unis.

Justin Petkus, MS, CFLE, CCLS
Vice-présidence
Directeur des Partenariats
jpetkus@pediatricpotential.org

M. Justin Petkus est doublement certifié en tant que Spécialiste du Milieu de l'Enfant et Éducateur en Matière de Vie Familiale, et est un co-fondateur de Pediatric Potential. En 2018, il a été nommé Éducateur en Matière de Vie Familiale de l'année par le National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) en reconnaissance spéciale de ses recherches et pratiques, et en 2019, Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP) à remis à M. Petkus le prix annuel de la recherche.

Justin a servi les enfants et les familles dans des rôles éducatifs cliniques et de prévention avec des hôpitaux et des milieux communautaires. Il a participé à l'élaboration de programmes, à des projets de recherche, à des activités d'éducation et de développement du leadership dans ces milieux.

M. Petkus a de l'expérience dans la prestation de soins culturellement adaptés aux patients et aux familles pédiatriques à travers l’Amérique du Nord, l’Asie du Sud-Est et le Moyen-Orient. Dans le cadre de sa dernière mission, M. Petkus a co-mis en place le premier service de développement durable pour les enfants au Qatar, où il a intégré les pratiques pédiatriques de soins psychosociaux dans plusieurs systèmes de soins au sein du système public de santé.

Justin se spécialise dans l'avancement des résultats pour les enfants et les familles dans les contextes culturels uniques des établissements de soins de santé à travers le monde. En tant que chercheur émergent, il a été l'investigateur principal d'une étude multidisciplinaire dans un centre d'urgence pédiatrique du Moyen-Orient. M. Petkus a présenté sur les soins psychosociaux pédiatriques et l'impact des expériences défavorables de l'enfance sur le cerveau en développement de l'enfant lors de conférences internationales en Amérique du Sud et en Europe. Justin est dédié à la promotion des réseaux de ressources et de soutien pour les ONG, les hôpitaux et les cliniques qui améliorent leur capacité à renforcer les résultats psychosociaux pédiatriques.

M. Petkus est actuellement candidat au doctorat en psychologie clinique et de la santé à l'Université du Luxembourg à l'Institut de la santé et du comportement de l'unité de recherche intégrative sur le développement social et individuel (INSIDE). Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en développement de l'enfant et d'une maîtrise en développement humain et études familiales de la Central Michigan University aux États-Unis.

HISHAM MORSI, MD, MS, PhD
Membre hors-cadre du Conseil
Directeur de Recherche
HMorsi@pediatricpotential.org

Le Docteur Morsi est un conseiller principal pour la Qualité de Vie (QOL en anglais) et le soin psycho-social, qui a soigné des patients en pédiatrie, adolescents et jeunes adultes avec des malignités hématologiques et oncologiques pendant plus de dix ans au Royaume-Uni et le Qatar. Pendant ce temps, il a réalisé des traitements personnalisés pour le cancer, QOL et des soins psychosociaux pour les patients atteints de cancer ainsi que leurs familles, en conduisant des programmes de vie normalisée et en dirigeant un programme non gouvernemental de soutien de la communauté QOL pour les patients atteints de cancer.

Dans son actuelle position de direction, le Docteur Morsi dirige des activités multidisciplinaires basées sur un programme spécialisé de recherche, des pratiques factuelles et des instruments d´analyse de pointe de la psychologie du développement. Il est en train de combler les lacunes entre les extrêmes circonstances psychosociales et psychopathologiques pour que des individus sains, qui sont sous une sévère pression due aux circonstances extrêmes de leur vie, puissent s´épanouir sans être considérés et traités comme des patients psychologiques. De plus, il travaille pour permettre que les patients adolescents atteints de cancer puissent prendre en charge, eux-mêmes, la gestion de leurs conditions de santé en employant des systèmes innovants de e-santé en collaboration avec des établissements à la renommée internationale comme l´Université Kingston au Royaume-Uni ou L´Hôpital pour enfants malades au Canada.

Le Docteur Morsi possède une License en Médecine à l´Université d´Alexandria, un Certificat de Psychologie du Développement au NVCC aux Etats-Unis, une License en Psychiatrie à l´Université de Cardiff et un Doctorat en Biologie Moléculaire à L´Université Kingston au Royaume-Uni, à laquelle il est actuellement affilié. Il a écrit des livres, articles et réalisé des présentations ainsi que des séminaires d´études médicales et sociales aussi bien en anglais qu´en arabe.

SHEILA PALM, MA, CCLS
Membre hors-cadre du Conseil
Conseillère en Pratique
SPalm@pediatricpotential.org

Mme Sheila Palm est une Spécialiste du Milieu de l'Enfant Certifiée et a été impliquée avec Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP), anciennement le Conseil du Milieu de l'Enfant, en tant qu'ancienne Présidente, ancienne Trésorière et Membre du Conseil d'Administration Exécutif. Sa contribution au sein de l'APME inclut la planification stratégique, les normes académiques et cliniques, les certifications, la gestion financière, les relations internationales, les campagnes d'adhésion et l'examen et le développement du programme pour les enfants.

Sheila a agit à titre de Gérante/Directrice du Département du Milieu de l'Enfant à Hôpitaux et Cliniques pour Enfants du Minnesota durant plus de quarante ans. Après avoir complété son stage en milieu de l'enfant à l'Hôpital pour Enfants John Hopkins, elle a mené le programme en milieu de l'enfant du Minnesota dans une organisation pédiatrique multi-campus incluant deux hôpitaux pédiatriques, un centre de chirurgie, des hôpitaux communautaires, et des services d'urgence autonomes. La thérapie par la musique, les arts curatifs/expressifs, et la programmation fraternelle sont des éléments essentiels de ce département du milieu de l'enfant de soixante membres. Elle a quitté ce poste de direction en 2018.

L'intérêt et le soutien de Sheila à développer et renforcer les services psychosociaux pédiatriques à l'international ont émané de sa pratique clinique et son expérience professionnelle. En tant que membre fondateur de la Fondation Priyanka, Sheila supporte le travail de Pediatric Potential dans l'avancement et l'achèvement de sa mission pour les enfants et leurs familles dans un monde global.

Mme Palm détient un Baccalauréat en Développement de l'Enfant et Relations Familiales de l'Université d'État du Colorado et une Maîtrise en Développement Humain et Orientation de l'Université Saint Mary du Minnesota aux États-Unis.

We are
Child Development Experts
Global
Partners
Non-profit

PSYCHOSOCIAL CARE

We are child development experts, who believe that all hospitalized children and families should have access to psychosocial care, to minimize the stress and anxiety of healthcare experiences.

MEET OUR TEAM

HOLLY CLARK, MS, CTRS, CCLS
Executive Director
HClark@pediatricpotential.org

Ms. Holly Clark is dually certified as a Child Life Specialist and Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, and is a Co-Founder of Pediatric Potential.

Holly served pediatric patients with hematology, oncology, and acute medical rehabilitation needs for over twelve years as a Certified Child Life Specialist. Amid her tenure as a clinician, she provided a variety of psychosocial care interventions, led community re-integration programs, implemented support groups, and cultivated external donor and partner relationships.

In her most recent leadership position, Ms. Clark implemented Qatar’s first sustainable Child Life Service, and directed pediatric psychosocial care for the state’s public healthcare system for over four years. While in Qatar, she successfully advocated and co-authored professional licensure requirements for the Child Life Specialist, which are officially recognized by the country’s Ministry of Public Health (MOPH).

Holly’s global expertise spans from America, India, South East Asia, Africa and the Middle East. For the past eight years, she has dedicated her career to promoting culturally responsive psychosocial care, as a professional consultant, governing board member, researcher, guest lecturer and medical mission volunteer.

Ms. Clark holds a Bachelor's degree in Management and Marketing from the University of Oregon and a Master's degree in Recreation Administration with concentration in Therapeutic Recreation from San Francisco State University in the United States.

JEANINE CLAPSADDLE, MA, LMFT, CCLS
Chair
Director of Client Experience
JClapsaddle@pediatricpotential.org

Ms. Jeanine Clapsaddle is a Certified Child Life Specialist and a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, and is a Co-Founder of Pediatric Potential.

Jeanine served pediatric patients with oncology, hemophilia, thalassemia and other chronic conditions for over two decades as at Certified Child Life Specialist. During this time, she provided hands-on services to patients and families including medical education, procedural preparation and support, legacy and bereavement services, and reintegration to home and school life.

In her current assignment as a Clinical Supervisor, Ms. Clapsaddle leads an interdisciplinary team of Child Life Specialists, Child Life Assistants, Recreation Therapists, and Music Therapists. Within this role she promotes clinical skill development, collects data for program growth, participates in research studies, collaborates to develop new patient services, fosters donor relationships, supervises and mentors students and partners with organizational administration to facilitate optimal patient and family services. Jeanine’s global engagements range from America, India, South East Asia and Africa. She co-led the development and implementation of the first accredited Child Life internship outside of North America, has provided hands-on child-friendly healthcare practices for medical staff to improve patient and family experiences, lectures internationally on psychosocial factors impacting pediatric patient healthcare outcomes and provides support and oversight to a flagship Child Life program in India.

Ms. Clapsaddle holds a Bachelor's degree in Human Development from Stephens College and a Master's degree in Counseling Psychology and Marriage and Family Therapy from the University of St. Thomas in the United States.

JUSTIN PETKUS, MS, CFLE, CCLS
Vice Chair
Director of Partnerships
JPetkus@pediatricpotential.org

Mr. Justin Petkus is dually certified as a Child Life Specialist and Family Life Educator, and is a Co-Founder of Pediatric Potential. In 2018, he was named Family Life Educator of the Year by the National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) in special recognition of his research and practice, and in 2019 The Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP) recognized Mr. Petkus as the annual research award recipient.

Justin served children and families in both clinical and prevention based education roles within hospital and community settings. He has participated in program development, research projects, educator, and leadership development opportunities within these settings.

Ranging from North America, South East Asia, and the Middle East, Mr. Petkus has experience providing culturally responsive care to pediatric patients and families. In his latest assignment, Mr. Petkus co-implemented the first sustainable Child Life Service in Qatar, where he integrated pediatric psychosocial care practices into multiple systems of care within the state's public healthcare system.

Justin specializes in advancing outcomes for children and families within the unique cultural contexts of healthcare settings around the world. As an emerging researcher, he served as the primary investigator on a multidisciplinary study in a Middle Eastern pediatric emergency center. Mr. Petkus has presented on pediatric psychosocial care and the impact of adverse childhood experiences on the developing brain of the child at international conferences in South America and Europe. Justin is dedicated to fostering networks of resources and support for NGOs, hospitals, and clinics that enhance their ability to strengthen pediatric psychosocial outcomes.

Currently, Mr. Petkus is a Doctoral Candidate in Clinical and Health Psychology at the University of Luxembourg in the Institute for Health and Behaviour within the Integrative Research Unit on Social and Individual Development (INSIDE). He holds a Bachelor's degree in Child Development and Master's degree in Human Development and Family Studies from Central Michigan University in the United States.

HISHAM MORSI, MD, MS, PhD
Board Member
Director of Research
HMorsi@pediatricpotential.org

Dr. Morsi is a lead consultant of Quality of Life (QoL) and psychosocial care, who served pediatric, teenage and young adult patients with hematological and oncological malignancies for over ten years in the UK and Qatar. During this time, he provided personalized and tailored cancer, QoL and psychosocial care to cancer patients and their families, led normalizing life programs and headed a community QoL non-governmental supportive program for cancer patients.

In his current management position, Dr. Morsi runs multi-disciplinary activities based on a specialized research program, evidence-based practice and state-of-the-art developmental psychology assessment tools. He is bridging the gaps between extreme psychosocial circumstances and psychopathologies so that healthy individuals, who are under severe pressure of extreme life circumstances, can thrive without being labeled and treated as psychological patients. Moreover, he is working to empower teenage cancer patients to take charge of their health conditions and management via employing innovative e-health systems in collaboration with reputable international establishments such as Kingston University in the UK and The Hospital for Sick Children in Canada.

Dr. Morsi holds a Bachelor’s degree in Medicine from the University of Alexandria, a Certificate of Developmental Psychology from NVCC in the United States, a Master’s degree in Psychiatry from Cardiff University and a PhD in Molecular Biology from Kingston University in the UK, for which he is also affiliated. He has authored books, articles, offered presentations and provided strategic workshops in medical and social studies in both English and Arabic.

SHEILA PALM, MA, CCLS
Board Member
Practice Consultant
SPalm@pediatricpotential.org

Ms. Sheila Palm is a Certified Child Life Specialist and has been involved with the Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP), formerly the Child Life Council, as a Past-President, Past-Treasurer, and Executive Board Committee Member. Her service to the ACLP includes strategic planning, academic and clinical standards, certification, financial management, international relationships, membership initiatives and child program review and development.

Sheila served as the Manager/Director of the Child Life Department at Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota for over forty years. After completing her child life internship at Johns Hopkins Children’s Hospital, she led the Minnesota child life program in a multi-campus pediatric organization including two pediatric hospitals, a surgical center, community-based hospitals, and self-standing emergency services. Music therapy, the healing/expressive arts, and sibling programming are vital components within this sixty-member child life department. She retired from this leadership position in 2018.

Sheila’s interest and support for developing and strengthening international pediatric psychosocial services grew from her clinical practice and work experience. As a founding board member of The Priyanka Foundation, Sheila supports the work of Pediatric Potential in advancing and achieving its mission for children and their families in a global world.

Ms. Palm holds a Bachelor’s degree in Child Development and Family Relationships from Colorado State University and a Master’s degree in Human Developmental and Counseling from Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota in the United States.